I Did A One Month Tarot Challenge & This is What I Learned

IMG_8122.JPG
This deck is called the Ritual Oracle

Yesterday I completed the Brooklyn Tarot Scope challenge I’ve been doing for a month now. The way it worked was this: everyday I drew card (I decided to draw mostly from my Ritual Oracle Deck which I absolutely adore). Then I would post a photo of the card alongside the day’s question and answer. I liked drawing first and than looking at what the day’s question was because it allowed me to be completely focused on genuinely drawing the right card as opposed to putting too much pressure on the right answer. What I noticed most about doing daily draws was how quickly they became a part of my routine and a satisfying part at that.

Screen Shot 2016-10-31 at 5.46.38 PM.png
I’m including a few of this month’s posts, but if you want to see them all just follow me @haley_kamilla on IG or to see the challenge in its entirety just search #bktarotscope

I really enjoyed pulling from my deck, usually at night right before I went to bed. Some days I just wouldn’t feel like meditating (a term I’m loosely applying to the past month’s practice) and so I wouldn’t. The day after I would catch up on any missed pulls usually enjoying the practice of pulling more than one card. I felt elated when I felt like the cards paralleled what was happening in my life. On days that I drew cards that felt further from my current truth, I tried to figure out how they were working in my life and if perhaps they were arriving in a pivotal moment, a moment when I needed to reflect on the exact card and question showing up. It’s awesome to me the response I received on Instagram where I was making these daily posts. I start to gain a bigger following of likeminded people, either other’s who were participating in the month challenge or those who simply liked following my daily posts.

Screen Shot 2016-10-31 at 5.47.53 PM.png

I loved the aspect of community in this challenge. It definitely encouraged me to make my posts daily because I was participating in something greater than myself. I also liked that I stayed accountable to myself everyday since I promised myself I was going to finish this challenge. I’ve tried to make daily draws a part of my routine in the past, but I’ve always given up after a few days of doing them. This time around although I wanted to quit a few times, I managed to talk myself down, promising myself that just like blogging helps curb my creative bug, daily draws were a form of meditation I was comfortable and satisfied with. I definitely want to do a challenge like this one again.

Screen Shot 2016-10-31 at 5.48.18 PM.png

The BK Tarot Scope (or #bktarotscope as we tagged our photo’s on IG) was horoscope focused. I didn’t love the theme as I’m not all that invested in horoscopes or signs, but it did teach me a lot about the importance of different signs and different parts of the month. I’m hoping that whatever challenge I decided to do next will encourage me to be more creative, allowing me to show different aspects of my home where I’ve allowed myself to decorate and redecorate as my heart desires as well as have a daily meditative aspect to it. If anyone has any ideas or has heard of a tarot challenge for the month of November please let me know! My conclusion from this month’s work? A tarot challenge is a great way to continue exploring my deck, get in touch with my intuition, and find more of my community online and otherwise.

Screen Shot 2016-10-31 at 5.48.36 PM.png

Leave a Reply

